Week 10 Check-In

Nothing much to say here, so it’s really just an update.

Today’s weight:  196.4 pounds

Week 10 loss: 26.6 pounds

Total loss:  133.6

I went to the gym twice last week.  I wish it was more, but it is what it is.

I added the matcha, 1tsp twice daily, but it’s a recent addition.  The jury is still out on whether it’s having any significant impact.

But I’m under 200, so that’s a bonus, and I will never see 200 again, thank goodness. 

Mother’s day yesterday was a wash.  I purposefully went FB dark yesterday, trying to avoid all the salt-in-the-wound photos of flowers and brunches celebrating motherhood.  I used to do similar Mother’s Day-Facebook avoidance when we were going through IVF.  It was just too painful.  Now, I’m a mother, but the holiday is still painful because it’s a day like any other, every year:  diapers, meal preparation, naps, laundry, tantrums.  And FB images of the flowers and brunches and outings and hikes feel painful, like, well, salt in the proverbial wound of disappointment.  It is what it is, and it’s fine, I guess, but I won’t deny that it smarts a tiny bit, all those images.

Unfortunately, today is still a flood of those images too.  I wish there was a way to filter out all the mentions of stuff that hurts, all the triggers, and just see the other stuff.  I really want to go completely FB DARK for an extended period of time, I think.  It’s not a healthy place for me, really   But that will have to wait until after the kids’ birthdays, just because FB is the only place I can communicate with some of the invitees.

This morning, I decided to hit the road in my new shoes, testing them out with some interval road training.  It’s an entirely different beast from treadmill running in a good way.  It’s way more challenging.  But also prettier.  Nicer.  And I tried out the new-to-me stroller, which is a super sweet ride, even being 11 years old.  It’s a Zooper Boogie.  I like.

It was just 2 miles, as I only had 30 minutes before I needed to pick up the twins at preschool. (gratuitous preschool cupcake photo!)

 But back to healthy stuff.  Like exercise.  I am so very lucky that my city has such gorgeous rails-to-trails paths.  Seriously.  

My passenger seemed to enjoy the ride, but she was very cranky by the end.  She hasn’t been sleeping well at night, so cranky is par for the course these days.

I’m working the C-to-5K program, using intervals to get back in shape, so it was a slow 2 miles, but I enjoyed it.  

So that’s my update.  Here’s to another week!  Enjoy the sunshine!

Leave a Reply

