B is for Breakfast (and Baking)

I love to bake.  I always have, really.  It’s how I wooed my husband.  We were dating long distance, and I often baked him spicy chocolate chip cookies  (chocolate chip cookies with cayenne pepper).  We often joke that he thought that flush he got was because he was in loooove, but it was really the cayenne. 😉

At any rate, I got up early this morning with a plan to use some of the leftover buttermilk.  I made buttermilk pancakes yesterday.  This morning, one of my favorite foods:  chocolate chip scones.  I know it’s dangerous territory to bake my favorite treats, but it wasn’t so bad.  I’m sure I’ll be grumpy later, as I still need to cut my calories elsewhere to compensate for that breakfast scone, but honestly, it was SOOOO worth it.  I’ll take my homemade scones over dense bakery scones any day.  Seriously.  They’re that good, and super easy to make.

I like this recipe. It’s not super punishing in calories, and it makes a light and delicious scone.  I might try them with fruit, maybe blackberries, next time (with a hint of lemon?) .

Chocolate Chip Scones 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter (1 stick), cold, cut into pieces
  • 3/4 cup semisweet or dark chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (I make my own, so I always have gallons of it)
  • 2/3 cup cold buttermilk
  • For brushing tops of scones:  1 egg and 1 TBSP milk

Directions:

  1. Mix flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.
  2. Add cold pieces of butter and mix until crumbly with a pastry mixer (I used a potato smasher and it worked just fine).
  3. In a separate cup, add vanilla to buttermilk, stir, and add to the dry mixture.
  4. Mix by hand until just combined.  Don’t overmix.  I needed to add a couple more tablespoons of buttermilk to mine.
  5. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface, and hand knead the dough just until combined (4-6 turns did it for me).  
  6. Shape into a disk about 7-8″ round and 1.5″ thick.  Cut in half, then cut each half into 4 pie-shaped wedges.  Place on a baking sheet that is covered in parchment paper.  Brush lightly with egg wash (the beaten egg and milk), and I sprinkled with a tiny bit of sugar (preferably demerara/raw sugar, but regular works too). 
  7. Bake 15-20 minutes, until golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.  (16 minutes was perfect for me).
  8. Enjoy!
The butter and dry ingredients, crumbly but well integrated.
Ready for forming. This was the perfect texture for my taste.
Cut, placed on parchment paper, egg-washed.
Deeeeeee-licious!
Is your mouth watering?
nom nom nom

OK, now the ugly part.  The nutritional rundown.  It’s not pretty, but it’s not as bad as it could be.  I’ll be sure to compensate for this later in the day to make sure I’m on track calorically.  It was a sacrifice, but a very worthwhile one, in my opinion. This was the perfect way to start my Sunday morning!

Enjoy!  Happy Sunday!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. unibookworm says:

    That’s some nice looking scones =D

    Like

  2. raven avery says:

    Those look so good!!!! I’ll definitely have to give them a try when my chocolate ban is over 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

