WIP Wednesday, one day removed

I’ve been working on another pair of stripey socks, and I’m loving these colors.  Nothing too interesting, in terms of pattern.  These are the Tootsie Roll pattern, and I love they way they are kind of slouchy, 80s-style.  The yarn is from Nomadic Yarns, and the colorway is Indio.  These will also get an afterthought heel.

And while I’m talking about socks, I want to share my latest acquisition from my beloved Blue Q socks; given today’s political and social climate they seemed to be appropriate.  Now I LOVE these socks.  The fit is a bit snug, and I don’t have huge ankles or anything.  But I’m a sock knitter, a very prolific knitter of socks.  I’ve been knitting socks for a long, long time.  And while the Blue Q socks are absolutely irreverent and adorable and all the things I love about funky socks, there’s a really annoying design flaw.  

The socks are identical, and by identical, I mean that they have the printing on one side only.  So when you wear these socks, the printing is on the outside on one foot and on the inside on the other foot.  

It’s an easy fix for them to implement, but they choose not to, calling it a design feature.  But as a lover and knitter of socks, it’s freaking annoying as heck.  REALLY.  Still, I love them even though it’s a huge design flaw, and probably more annoying for a sock knitter than it is for the average sock afficionada.

And now, I’m going to mix my messages on this blog post by also including a gym update, for those who are following along in my quest to find exercise time when I have 3 children aged 3 and under.  This was the third day in a row when I woke up at 5:30, and so did the baby.  I think she’s perhaps grown wise to my sneaking out the door at 6AM to get some ME time, and she’s decided to put the kibosh on anything of the sort.  My first instinct was to throw my hands in the air, throw a temper tantrum, and shout, “I quit!”
Then, I picked myself up, and decided that I’m going to try to brainstorm alternatives.  I live in a tiny, and I DO mean TINY, house.  I have zero floor space because every freaking inch of it is covered in princesses and Legos.  Seriously.  It’s like my very own obstacle course getting from one room to another.  I’m DROWNING in kid clutter.  DROWNING.

So working out at home just isn’t an option.  I wish it was.

For the time being, I’m going to try to borrow a jogging stroller and take the baby out while the twins are in preschool for a walk/run (on days when I can’t get into the gym).  I’ll try to get my husband to come home at a reasonable hour so that I can hit the gym in the evenings, after the kids are in bed, perhaps.  And I can do the gym on the weekends too.  I’ll make it work, and I’ll still keep tracking food/nutrition, of course.

A roadblock is just a roadblock.  Until I decide that it’s not. 

Later today, I’ll blog about cooking with kids.  We’re making beef stew.  And I need to get some bread rising this morning so we have fresh bread for dinner.

What’s on your menu?

Leave a Reply

