Tip Tuesday:  Snack Edition 

Partially because I’m post-bariatric  (tiny tummy), partially because it’s healthier, and partially because I’m a snacker by nature, I like to come up with healthy snacking options that offer nutritional value.  I very rarely sit down to a proper, large meal, but instead I opt for snack sized portions spaced throughout the day.  it keeps me feeling full and satisfied, and it satisfies my innate desire to nibble.  Constantly.

So this morning,  I made a bunch of healthy nibbles using a new recipe.  I introduce to you Baked Chocolate Chip Banana Oatmeal Cups.  This recipe made a hefty portion of 24, so I’m going to freeze most of them.  I don’t use the microwave much (but I’m a toaster oven goddess), so that’s how I’ll reheat.  It will also help them maintain that slight crust that I’m enjoying.

Here’s the recipe.   It’s super quick and easy to make.  I don’t have silicone baking cups,  though I might invest in a set.  These popped out of my pans easily,  though. 
Ingredients:

  • 4 ripe bananas,  smashed.
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups skim milk
  • .5 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tsp cinnamon (I went heavy on this)
  • 4 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Either lightly mist your muffin tins with baking spray,  or use the baking cups.   Your choice. 
  2. Mix bananas,  eggs,  milk,  and brown sugar worth a whisk until blended. 
  3. Add baking powder,  vanilla,  cinnamon.   Mix. 
  4. Add oats and chips (you can sub for a cup of fruit here to mix it up, if you like,  but that will change the nutritional info.   I love chocolate,  so chocolate it is. 
  5. Portion out evenly across 24 portions.  Bake 25-30 minutes.   
  6. Serve warm.  Once cool, you can wrap in wax paper and a freezer baggie, removing extra air,  and freeze. 

When I ran the recipe through MyFitnessPal, it gave me different nutritional values than on the original site,  so I’ll provide those here. 

I was pleased with these.   They have a satisfyingly crunchy and chewy dense texture.  They’re perfect little snack-sized pick-me-up with some nutritional value to them. 

Give them a try and let me know what you think. 
Oh,  and on an exercise note,  I’m already falling short on my goals for this week.   I was aiming for a 7 day gym week,  but the more I read,  the more I’m inclined to give myself one rest day a week.   All the health literature indicates that you lose more when you have a rest day planned each week,  so I felt like a slacker this morning,  sleeping in until a luxurious 7am!  It’s not such a bad thing,  though.  My heel is raw and sore, so a rest day seemed in order anyway. 

Back at it tomorrow. 

Leave a Reply

