Hippie/Country Mama in the ‘burbs:  Homemade Hamburger Buns

We’re pretty darn poor, being on one income.  I admit it.  We made a lot of concessions in order to have an at-home parent.  We don’t do dance classes or sports.  We don’t do music lessons or art lessons or movie theaters or amusement parks.  But we DO have a parent at home in their early years, and while it’s a struggle, we’re trying to make it work for as long as we can.  I used to (and occasionally still do) struggle with comparison parenting, where I compare what the other kids are doing compared to our kids.  But I try to maintain my sanity as much as possible by avoiding that scene entirely, when I can.  It’s not because I begrudge the other parents their luxuries.  They work hard for them.  But I need to avoid comparison parenting, because we each have our own journeys, and I try my best to make up for those lacks by going to the playground and getting creative with activities.

All this to say that we eat off a budget. We eat a ton of fresh fruits and veggies that are IN SEASON because they’re affordable.  We look for sales and design our weekly menus around what’s on sale.  We coupon.  We try our best to eat healthy food, real food, non-processed.  We fail sometimes, but we try.

Ground beef was on sale last week, so I made up some beef barbecue.  I’m not the biggest fan of ground beef. I grew up on the stuff, as a country girl where we bought a year’s worth of beef by splitting a cow with another family so we always had meat in the deep freeze.  It IS versatile, though, as a protein choice, and it’s affordable.  I feel guilty occasionally about our extensive chicken thigh and beef menus, but I always pair it with lots of veggies and fruits and whole grains.

But I hate store-bought hamburger buns, and since I’m a bread baker, why not make some very quick and easy homemade hamburger buns.

I used this recipe from Taste of Home.  After reading the comments,   I made a couple of choices.  One, I let the rolls rise for about 30 minutes (the recipe says 10 minutes).  Two, I made it into 12 rolls.  All the comments in the recipe say it makes tiny rolls, so they did 8 rolls.  I did not have the same experience at all.  I split the batch into 12 rolls and they were very generously sized for a normal portion (about 5.5-6″ in diameter).  

Happy Yeast!

Pardon me if I type with my mouth full! 🙂

These were easy and quick and so much better than store-bought.  I mean, they’re still hamburger buns, but homemade.  

NB:  To extend the shelf life of homemade bread, always refrigerate them.  They will also freeze well.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Shantai G says:

    These look great! I’ve just started baking, and I made some burger buns a few days ago. I’m going to try the recipe that you used this week. Where I live, it’s super difficult to find burger buns, and when we do find them, they taste like crap. I agree with you, homemade is much, much, much better than store-bought!

    Like

Leave a Reply

