(Real) Foodie Friday

I find that when I’m conscientious about my eating and I pay attention to what my body is telling me, I tend to eat healthier.  My brain craves cupcakes and chips, sure, but my body craves fruits and veggies and whole grains and real, unprocessed food.  I just need to learn to listen (again) to my body, not my brain.  When I’m eating better, whole foods, I feel better too.  Happier.  More energy.  

Yesterday, I started to reimplement old habits.

First, I LOVE hummus.  Big girl or small girl, it’s one of my favorite treats.  But homemade hummus is insanely easy to make, and it’s nutrient and protein rich.  We bought a ton of organic chick peas when they were on sale back when I was healthy, between pregnancies. Time to break into the stash.  Seriously, you have to try it.  
Here’s my basic recipe, but it’s not rocket science.  Feel free to customize to taste.

Tracis Basic Hummus:

Ingredients:  

  • 1, 15.5 Oz can of organic chick peas, rinsed and drained 
  • .25 cup sesame tahini
  • 2 TBSP lemon juice (or juice from 1 lemon)
  • 1 garlic clove (or 1/8 tsp garlic powder if you don’t have fresh)
  • 1 TBSP extra Virginia olive oil
  • .25 cup water
  • dashes of salt, coriander, paprika, cumin 

Directions:  

Seriously, just put it all in a Magic Bullet or other blending device and blend until smooth.  This will make about 8, 2 TBSP servings of deliciousness.  You’re welcome. 

Servings:  8. 

Nutritional info per serving:

But why stop there?  Why not make some yummy homemade pita?  I look forward to the local Lebanese Festival here each year for the homemade pita bread.  It’s chewy and delicious. I had NO IDEA how easy it was to make it at home!  So easy!  And I’ll try whole wheat next, because I think it’s rustic enough to handle whole wheat flour.

My Basic White Pita Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 packet (or 2.25 tsp) active dry yeast 
  • 1.5c warm (100-110 degree) water
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 3.5c bread flour

Directions:

  1. Mix yeast with warm water.  Make sure the water isn’t above 110 or you’ll kill your yeast.   Add sugar.   Allow to sit for about 10 minutes, until slightly foamy to activate your yeast.   
  2. Add salt and gently stir.  Slowly add bread flour and stir until combined. Turn out onto a lightly floured surface and hand knead until it feels smith and elastic.   If you’re new to bread making, you’ll just learn to get the feel for it.   Add flour sparingly as you knead,  generally no more than an a 1/2 cup extra.  You should knead for about 6-8 minutes,  approximately. 
  3. Clean your bowl,  lightly coat it with your oil, and place your ball of dough in it,  rolling the ball of dough to coat it.   Cover the bowl with a clean,  lightly damp towel or plastic wrap and allow to sit in a warm,  drafts free spot for 60-90 minutes to rise (it should double in size).
  4. Preheat your oven to 500, and place your pizza stone in it.  If your using a cast iron skillet or grill, that’s fine too (we use our grill in the summer months to avoid turning on the oven)
  5. Once ready,  punch it down.   I like to do about 12 equal portions.  Roll them out with a rolling pin to about 8″ diameter.   I roll mine super thin.   Place them in single layers,  with wax paper between,  or in a single layer.   Just make sure they’re not touching,  as they will stick to each other and make you sad. 
  6. Bake 2 at a time on your hot pizza stone for about 5 minutes,  flipping over about halfway through. They’ll inflate.   This is ok.   They’re supposed to to create the pocket. Allow to cool on a rack,  and I like to store them in the fridge to extend their life. 

Voila.  Homemade Pita.  Sooooooo good.  

Nutrition is based on 12 pitas per recipe, one pita = one serving:

And finally, one of my favorite snacks:  Cinnamon Honey Roasted Chick Peas. 

Ingredients

  • 1, 15.5oz can organic chick peas
  • 1/2 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 TBSP organic honey
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/8 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Rinse and drain chick peas.   Dump on a clean dry paper towel and roll them around bit to dry them. 
  3. Put the chick peas onto a baking tray covered with parchment,  or my preference,  a silicone baking mat.
  4. Bake for about 35-45 minutes or until a bit crunchy. 
  5. While the beans are baking.  Mix the pull,  honey,  cinnamon,  nutmeg, and salt together in a small bowl. 
  6. While the peas are hot,  pour them into the bowl and mix to coat. Pour back onto the mat.
  7. At this point, you can either allow to dry,  or I like to pop them back into the oven for 5-10 minutes more. 
  8. Allow to cool. 

Makes about 4 servings, which look like small servings,  but they’re really nutrient and fiber dense,  so very filling.

Nutritional info per serving (based on 4 servings per recipe yield):

Leave a Reply

